top of page
  • Ciera Tyler

5 Things to Consider BEFORE Getting a Dog

Hello Friends!


Getting a puppy is a big decisions because puppies come with a lot of responsibility. My husband and I got a puppy a year into our marriage and we are so in love with our fur baby. However, she did completely change our lives. A lot of my daily routine revolves around my dog now. From her potty schedule, breakfast, afternoon walk, and dinner schedule-I am no longer at will to do what ever I want anymore. This post will list 5 things that I recommend you consider BEFORE getting a puppy!




1. Can you afford a puppy?

The first thing to do is to take a good look at your budget to see if you can afford a puppy. Rarely are puppy's free, they can cost anywhere from $100-$5,000 depending on the dog breed and the institution that you purchase your puppy from. Be sure to consider what you can afford up front for a dog. Next, consider the vet bills for shots, check ups, sickness, and getting your dog fixed. Our pup is 8 months old and we are out about $1,500 in vet bills alone with a healthy dog. Furthermore, consider the cost of dog supplies. This includes food, treats, toys, bed, crate, gates, gear, etc. As the dog grows you have to buy new collars, beds, and toys, so the cost continues throughout the dogs life. We are out around $850 alone for our dogs organic dog food in just 6 months of having her. Like I said before, dogs require a monetary commitment, be sure you can afford a puppy before getting one. I'll place a link to a dog cost estimator below.


2. Do you have the space to accommodate a puppy and a future full-grown dog?

If you own a home with a fenced yard you are most likely good to go. However, if you live in an apartment or condo be sure to consider if you have the space and facilities available to you to accommodate a dog. Dogs need a place to sleep, play, and a place outside to relieve themselves. Be sure to also check if your residence allows dogs if you are a renter.


3. Do you have enough time in your scheduled for a puppy?

This is a big one! Puppy's require a ton of care, attention, and training. Especially when they are potty training. If you work form home you are most likely good to go. However, if you commute to work you may need to adjust your schedule or seek outside help during the first few months of the puppy's life. I recommend crate training your puppy if you plan on leaving your puppy to go to work. Typically, a puppy can 'hold it' for their age in months translated into hours. For example if they are 2 months then they can typically hold it for 2 hours. Also, be sure to consider a puppy's scheduled in regards to eating, going potty, and exercising. Gone are the days of sleeping in late and going to happy hour after work when you have a needy puppy. You can expect to have to wake up bright and early to let your dog out to relieve themselves. Similarly, you can expect to have to hurry home form work to let your dog out.


4. What dog breed works best for your lifestyle?

A very important thing to consider before getting a dog is which breed works best for your lifestyle. Some things to consider about a dog breed are: size, energy level, required exercise, grooming needs, temperament, health risks, and hypoallergenic breeds. The reasons to consider these things are fairly obvious. If you get a small dog that has hair instead of fur you can expect to not have to exercise it as much but you will end up having to pay for the groomer very often. On the other hand, if you want a large dog that is high energy you can expect to have to exercise your dog for at least an hour a day and you may need larger living accommodations. Consider what you want out of your dog in the long run to help you choose a dog breed. In my own personal decision, I knew I wanted an active dog to join me on adventures and get me outside more. I also knew that I wanted a good family dog that was loyal and very easy to train. I ended up going with a golden retriever/white lab mix for these reasons. I'll place a link below to a great resource to search information on various dog breeds.


5. Where do you want to get your puppy from?

Lastly, you need to think about whether you want to adopt form a shelter, buy from a breeder, or purchase from an independent family. Every option works, however the price does very significantly depending on where you purchase a puppy from. Typically, the animal shelter is going to be the most affordable but you wont be guaranteed a pure breed puppy with papers. On the contrary, a breeder will be the most expensive but you will be able to purchase a pure breed with papers. The middle ground is purchasing from a local who is selling puppies on something like Facebook or craigslist. There are lots of options and I recommend that you keep your options open. I kept my options open and checked our local shelter often, in addition to craigslist. We ended up finding our puppy from a family on craigslist for a fraction of the price of what a breeder would have charged us.


There are plenty of other factors to consider before getting a puppy but I hope my top 5 list was helpful to you. I am so in love my sweet puppy, Sandy, and I am so glad that I got her.



Link to dog breed info: https://www.akc.org/dog-breeds/




85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page